WORTHINGTON — The music department of Worthington High School announces its annual senior music awards for the Class of 2020.

These perennial music awards were voted on by the members of each performing large group within the department and approved by directors Jon Loy (band), Kerry Johnson (choir) and Melanie Loy (orchestra). This year, nearly 350 students participated in music at Worthington High School.

Since all spring concerts were cancelled this year due to the COVID virus, the annual spring awards were formally presented recently at each student’s home by the WHS music faculty. The following are award recipients:

WHS Trojan Band: John Philip Sousa Award — Casey Michelson; Louis Armstrong Jazz Award — Azael Rodriguez; National School Marching Award — Sarah DeSmith; Leonard Bernstein Musicianship Award — Addison Wass, Kipton Jenson and Ethan Hyvari; WHS Band Alumni sponsored “Leader of the Band” Award — Michael Schnieder, McKenna Prunty, Jada Bonnett and Misti Dieter; Semper Fidelis Award (sponsored by the US Marines Youth Foundation) — Hailey Cauwels and Ethan Henderson.

WHS Orchestras: National School Orchestra Award — Ethan Hyvari; Beth Habicht Orchestra Award — Payton Sauerbrei and Cynthia Souksavath; WHS Director’s Award for Orchestra — Carmen Almodovar and Adam Koller.

WHS Choirs: National School Choral Award — Sarah DeSmith and Casey Michelson; Fred Waring Director’s Award for Chorus — Katie O’Donnell and Michael Schnieder.